Beware of Distant Learning Real Estate Classes and Hybrid Real Estate Classes
Beware of Distant Learning Real Estate Classes and Hybrid Real Estate License Classes that seem to be popping up in Florida; take your Real Estate Pre-License Class at The Climer School, the Best Real Estate License School in Florida.
There are no such things! Hybrid Real Estate Classes and Distant Learning Real Estate Classes do not exist in the Statutes. You may be placing yourself in jeapordy.
There is a new and insidious Real Estate class offering and there are schools out there that apparently are not legal.
They are advertising and offering what they refer to as “Distant Learning” and “Hybrid” classes. Not online, and not classroom; rather a ‘blend’. According to these schools, you can set your own schedule and according to their advertising, you do not need the full 63 hours.
There is a slight, yet major problem with this. The problem is that this is against Florida Statute 475 and Florida Administrative Code 61-J2.
I would not advertise this for my school as I would be greatly afraid that the Florida Real Estate Commission and or the Division of Real Estate and or the Department of Business and Professional Regulation would shut my school down and fine me and possibly revoke my license.
|Andy Brown and Pam Matera in front of the DBPR in Tallahassee|
And if I was a student at one of these schools, I would be afraid that my Real Estate license would be suspect and possibly revoked as well. There is no such thing in FS 475 or in 61-J2 as a Hybrid Class or Distant Learning. There are only Classroom and Distance Learning (which is the online courses).
All the Pre-Licenses require 63 Hours.
Here is a direct copy of 61-J2:
61J2-3.008 Pre-licensing Education for Broker and Sales Associate Applicants. (1) Any persons desiring to become licensed as a real estate sales associate must satisfactorily complete the Commission-prescribed course designated as Course I. This course will consist of 63 hours of 50 minutes each, inclusive of examination, in the basic fundamentals of real estate principles and practices, basic real estate, and license law. This rule sets forth the course approval criteria and procedure.
Then there is:
3(b)1. Distance learning necessitates a high level of self-direction and should, therefore, require students to read, conduct research, complete timed exams and similar assignments, designed to measure the student’s competency relative to the required subject matter objectives. Distance learning study must be offered on a classroom hour per classroom hour basis.
|FREC Required Pre License Hours|
These are highlighted and copied straight from FAC 61-J2. I am not making any of this up.
It is my personal belief that the Division of Real Estate and the Bureau of Education and Testing are NOT happy about these classes. In fact, I was personally contacted and asked if I was going to file a complaint against these schools. While I was not intending on filing a complaint, I did ask how they could get away with that kind of class and what I needed to do to be able to offer the same.
I was very matter of factly informed that they were not legal!
These are some of the reasons why I would be extremely and maybe even overly concerned and cautious before I took any Real Estate Licensing class that stated that I did not have to take the Florida Real Estate Commission prescribed mandatory number of hours.
If I was a real estate pre license student who had taken a class from one of these schools, I am sure that I would absolutely be visiting the Division of Real Estate, 400 W. Robinson, Orlando, Fl North Tower, 9th Floor, free parking or calling them at 407-481-5662 and filing a formal complaint.
I would be extremely upset if after all that time and money, I was told by the Commission or the DRE that my license was being pulled because I had not completed the statutory mandatory pre license hours. Of course, I am not telling anyone else what to do. I just know what I would do.
And I certainly would not refer a single, solitary person to those schools and classes, especially a friend. I would hate to refer them to a school that might be doing something illegal and that might cause them to lose their real estate license.
You do not want to take any chances. Your best bet is to attend The Climer School of Real Estate. We do it the right way. We have a very high state exam passing rate and most people know it. If you want to find out more about the best real estate school in Florida, stop by and visit anytime or call us at 407-822-3926. We have classes starting all the time.
|The Climer School of Real Estate is the Best Real Estate School in FloridaBe|